

CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINEES

City Clerk's Office

Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee May 10, 2022

RiversideCA.gov

1

BACKGROUND

The Mayor and City Council have honored a community member each year since the establishment of the City Spirit Award in 1995.

CITY SPIRIT AWARD RECIPIENTS			
1995 Dickey DeLoss	2002 William Gavitt	2009 Cindy Roth	2016 Henry Coil
1996 Rich Biber	2003 Dell Roberts	2010 Kathy Allavie	2017 Ruben and
			Diana Ayala
1997 Michael Goldware	2004 Stan Brown	2011 Jane Block	2018 Brian Jaramillo
1998 Rose Mayes	2005 Jim Erickson	2012 Stan Morrison	2019 Zack Earp
1999 Rita Norton	2006 Natividad Fuentes	2013 Debbie Guthrie	2020 Ofelia
			Valdez-Yeager
2000 Vic Miceli	2007 Damon Castillo	2014 Gordon Bourns	
2001 Daniel Hantman	2008 San Huang	2015 Anthony Rivera	

2

RiversideCA.gov

RIVER

2

2021 SPIRIT AWARD NOMINEES

2021 CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINATIONS			
Recommended by:	Nominee		
Mayor Lock Dawson	Jennifer Vaughn-Blakely (posthumously)		
Councilmember Edwards	Tom Donahue		
Councilmember Perry	Lynn Heatley		



3

RiversideCA.gov

3

STRATEGIC PLAN ALIGNMENT

- High Performing Government
- <u>Goal 5.3</u> Enhance communication and collaboration with community members to improve transparency, build public trust, and encourage shared decision-making.



Community Trust







Equity







4

RECOMMENDATION

That the Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee select a community member nominee(s) for consideration by the City Council for the 2021 City Spirit Award to honor their extraordinary deeds and community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City.



5

RiversideCA.gov

5