MEMBERS OF RIVERSIDE COUNTY MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

CITY OF RIVERSIDE

BON O. ADAMS, M.D. GWEN AUXIER, M.D. CECIL BAISINGER, M.D. MARY C. BALDWIN, M.D. HENRY C. BARRON, M.D. JOHN C. BURTON, M.D.
J. HAROLD BATZILE, M.D.
NEWMAN K. BEAR. M.D.
J. KARL BECK, W.D.
RICHARD BOYLAN, M.D.
RICHARD BOYLAN, M.D.
W. H. BLACKMAN, M.D.
IRA I BRANDFIELD, M.D.
THOMAS A. CARD, M.D.
DONALD CARPENTER, M.D.
FRED CLARK, M.D.
HELEN S. CLARK, M.D.
GEGRGE W. COON, M.D.
MAGDALENE CORR, M.D.
PHILIP CORR, M.D.
WALTER CRAWFORD, M.D. JOHN C. BURTON, M.D.

CITY OF RIVERSIDE

EDWIN P. MILLER, M.D. H. W. NAECKEL, M.D. E. H. OLSON, M.D. JOHN S. O'TOOLE, M.D. JOHN PETERSON, M.D. E. D. QUICK, M.D. E. L. RATLIFF, M.D. E. L. RATLIFF, M.D.
HARRY REYNOLDS, M.D.
SAMUEL REZNICK, M.D.
DONALD SCHLOTTER, M.D.
HOWARD STOCKER, M.D.
VEAN M. STONE, M.D.
VEAN M. STONE, M.D.
MILDRED VANCLEVE, M.D.
FRED A. VEITCH, M.D.
OMER WHEELER, M.D.
CABRAY WORTLEY, M.D.
EDWARD ZEMAN, M.D.

PALM SPRINGS AREA

WILLIAM AIRIN, M.D.
CHARLES BALDWIN, M.D.
H. M. F. BEHNEMAN, M.D.
WILLIAM ELLIOTT, M.D.
H. W. FINKE, M.D.
C. E. HARNER, M.D.
GEORGE KAPLAN, M.D.
LEO H. LADAGE, M.D.
WILLIAM C. MCBRIDE, M.D.
PHILLIP S. MCLENNAN, M.D.
C. G. NEWBECKER, M.D.
FAMES B. OLIVER, M.D.
JAMES B. OLIVER, M.D.
JAMES E. POTTER, M.D.
PERCY A. STALEY, M.D.
HUGH STEPHENS, M.D.
C. H. WOODMANSEE, M.D.

CORONA AREA

Surgeons of 4 Counties Will Convene at Inn

Riverside has been selected by the California Medical Association as host city for the first annual session of the Regional Medical and Surgical Convention for San Bernardino, Orange, Imperial and Riverside counties.

The convention will be held on Jan. 25 and 26 at the Mission Inn. More than 100 doctors and their wives from the four southern counties will attend.

Surgical demonstrations at the General Hospital of Riverside County will be a major event. The program also will include 20 medical lectures, discussions and study groups.

Dr. Omer W. Wheeler and Dr. Richard N. Boylan will be chairmen of the luncheon round table discussions.

The convention is sponsored by the Riverside County Medical Society and the program has been arranged by the Medical Extension Education Department of the University of Southern California School of Medicine at Los Angeles.

The Postgraduate Study Committee of the Riverside County Medical Association is responsible for bringing the convention to Riverside. Its members are Dr. Franklin B. Mead, chairman; Dr. Helen S. Clark, Dr. Hugh Stephens, Dr. H. C. Barron, Dr. Boylan and Dr. Van R. Hamilton.

https://www.genealogybank.com/doc/newspapers/image/v2:136518060B9CC65F@GB3NEWS-

Omer Wheelers Entertain With Garden Supper

The beautiful garden of Dr. and Mrs. Omer W. Wheeler on El Hijo was the setting Thursday evening for a cocktail supper party at which the Wheelers entertained 100 of their friends.

A buffet barbecue dinner was served. Guests were seated at small tables covered with red and white checkered cloths and centered with baskets of red geraniums and white daisies, arranged around the lighted swimming pool.

Record music was enjoyed during the dinner hour and afterwards guests danced on the badminton court.

This is the second affair at the Wheeler home recently. The other, given July 14, had Mr. and Mrs. Vernon Fletcher as co-hosts. About 80 guests were present, enjoying the swimming pool during the evening.



RIEBEL

URNER

TAKTIN

Boylan Named Chamber Head

Howard Boylan, vice president and comptroller of the California Electric Power Company, was elected president of the Riverside Chamber of Commerce yesterday.

At the election held in the Cham-9 ber office yesterday, Board members also selected Fred Jen-nings, co-owner of Jennings & Clay Co., as first vice president, and Clay Freeman, manager of the Bank of America, second vice president.

Rudy Hardman was appointed third vice president and Van Met-schke was appointed treasurer. Harry Holman and J. Neil Smith were appointed to the board of directors.

New officers will preside over the first meeting of the new Board on Nov. 5. New and holdover board members are: L. M. Backstrand, S. L. Boucher, Dale Cunnison, Judge John Gabbert, Eugene Hayes, Howard Hays Jr., Dr. Hobart Kelly, James Krieger, Richard Steves, H. R. Alrick, George Brown, John Buchanan, Glen Gurt-ner, Harry Iversen, W. Ruel John-son, Charles B. O'Neil, Judge Rus-sell Waite and Outgoing President Arthur Evans.

Retiring Board members are: C W. Dutton, Robert Asbury, R. E. Bouer, Archie Coffin, Carl Davis, Jack Dole, R. B. Hampson Jr., M.



HOWARD BOYLAN

Ray McMahan, A. E. Thurman, Dr. Omer Wheeler, William A. Wood and Arthur A. Culver. Following the election, the Board re-employed Hal Shawlee as

Chamber of Commerce manager.

Paddy Wagon Pops Open And Prisoners Scram

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (P) - Knoxville police want a new paddy wagon.

When officers were hauling 10 prisoners to the lockup, the doors of the wagon popped open. Eight of the arrested men "took off in all directions," as one policeman put it.

Of the two remaining prisoners, one was "too lazy" and the other had only one leg.

Old But Good

JONESTOWN, Miss. (P) - Jim Brooks, 100-year-old cotton picker, can still pick 200 pounds of cotton a day, a good average for a young man.

THERE OUGHTA BE A LAW!



https://www.genealogybank.com/doc/newspapers/image/v2:136518060B9CC65F@GB3NEWS-



SPEAKERS TABLE—Drs. John S. O'Toole, far left, and Fred D. Lord, next, secretary-treasurer and president of the Riverside County Medical Association, respectively, hear the views of Jerry Pettis, public relations director for the California Medical Association, and Dr. Lewis A. Alesen, CMA president, speakers at last night's installation meeting of the County Association. At far right is Dr. Omer Wheeler, district CMA councilor.

Rev. Horton Colbert

Pickett Heads **Group to Elect Backstrand**

E. H. Pickett, east side businessman and former City Council member, has been named chairman of a 50-member committee backing Councilman Harold Backstrand for reelection in the April 14 election, it was announced today.

Backstrand, who has represent-ed the Third Ward on the council since 1950, is one of 11 candidates running for the seven council seats open in Riverside's first councilman-at-large election.

Voters in all parts of the City will have the opportunity to cast ballots for all seven of the positions instead of only one as they did under the old ward system.

"Our committee, made up of representative men and women from all sections of the City, will work wholeheartedly for Councilman Backstrand's reelection," Pickett said, "because he has demonstrated through his actions on the council the past two years a sincere effort to consider the interests of the en-tire City rather than any one particular area.

"He has shown courage when courage was needed to fight legislation he believed wrong. We feel his experience as a business executive and his participation in many civic and community affairs makes him an ideal candidate for the new council.'

The Backstrand committee includes:

Gretchen Adams, Stewart Adler, H. R. Alrick, B. C. Barnes, David Bell, John Bergin, Eugene Best, Donald Bohr, Mayme Bonham, S. L. Boucher;

Philip Boyd, Sylvia Buchanan, Glen W. Campbell, William E. Clay, Walter C. Davison, J. C. Flaherty, Carol Goodman, Don Goodwin, Maurine Haglund, Albert C. Ham-

R. B. Hampson, Donald Hancock, Hayes Hertford, Herbert V. Hol-land, Al Johnson, Waldron Johnson, W. Ruel Johnson, Philip A. Kustner, Winifred Little, Dr. H. Hugh

Eleanor McClaskey, Dr. Erwin P. Miller, Clifford N. Moore, John Neblett, Jess Rathgeber, Wallace Ruby, Mrs. Paul E. Simonds, Delbert M. Stephenson, Eddie Street-

er, Dr. Ray C. Swain Jr.;
Arthur A. Swarner, J. R. Thill,
Jesse Wells, Dr. Omer W. Wheeler, C. Thomas Wheeler, D. B. White, Jack Wingate, James W. Wortz, Stella Younglove.

https://www.genealogybank.com/doc/newspapers/image/v2:13651645D687D212@GB3NEWS-