

# Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee

City of Arts & Innovation

TO: MAYOR'S NOMINATING AND SCREENING DATE: FEBRUARY 6, 2018

COMMITTEE

FROM: CITY CLERK WARDS: ALL

SUBJECT: CITY SPIRIT AWARD

## **ISSUE**:

Select community member nominees that exemplify community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City for consideration by the City Council for the 2017 City Spirit Award.

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

That the Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee select community member nominees for consideration by the City Council for the 2017 City Spirit Award to honor extraordinary deeds and community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City.

### **BACKGROUND**:

The Mayor and City Council have honored a community member each year since the establishment of the City Spirit Award in 1995. The prior award recipients are listed below.

CITY SPIRIT AWARD RECIPIENTS			
1995	Dickey DeLoss	2006	Natividad Fuentes
1996	Rich Biber	2007	Damon Castillo
1997	Michael Goldware	2008	San Huang
1998	Rose Mayes	2009	Cindy Roth
1999	Rita Norton	2010	Kathy Allavie
2000	Vic Miceli	2011	Jane Block
2001	Daniel Hantman	2012	Stan Morrison
2002	William Gavitt	2013	Debbie Guthrie
2003	Dell Roberts	2014	Gordon Bourns
2004	Stan Brown	2015	Anthony Rivera
2005	Jim Erickson	2016	Henry Coil

The chart below lists citizens recommended for consideration of the award by the Mayor and individual members of the City Council.

2017 CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINATIONS				
Councilmember Gardner	Ruben Ayala			
Councilmember Perry	Zack Earp			
Councilmember Mac Arthur	Dr. Ronald Ellis			
Councilmember Conder	Dr. Ronald Ellis			
Councilmember Soubirous	Dr. Ronald Ellis			
Mayor Bailey	Zack Earp			
Councilmember Melendrez	Nancy Melendez			

# **FISCAL IMPACT**:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this report.

Prepared by: Colleen J. Nicol, City Clerk