

# City Council Memorandum

TO: HONORABLE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL DATE: FEBRUARY 27, 2018

FROM: CITY CLERK WARDS: ALL

SUBJECT: 2017 CITY SPIRIT AWARD

### **ISSUE**:

Select community member that exemplifies community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City for the 2017 City Spirit Award.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee recommends selection of Ruben and Diana Ayala to receive the 2017 City Spirit Award to honor their extraordinary deeds and community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Mayor and City Council have honored a community member each year since the establishment of the City Spirit Award in 1995. The prior award recipients are listed below.

CITY SPIRIT AWARD RECIPIENTS			
1995	Dickey DeLoss	2006	Natividad Fuentes
1996	Rich Biber	2007	Damon Castillo
1997	Michael Goldware	2008	San Huang
1998	Rose Mayes	2009	Cindy Roth
1999	Rita Norton	2010	Kathy Allavie
2000	Vic Miceli	2011	Jane Block
2001	Daniel Hantman	2012	Stan Morrison
2002	William Gavitt	2013	Debbie Guthrie
2003	Dell Roberts	2014	Gordon Bourns
2004	Stan Brown	2015	Anthony Rivera
2005	Jim Erickson	2016	Henry Coil

The chart below lists citizens recommended for consideration of the award by the Mayor and individual members of the City Council.

2017 CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINATIONS			
Councilmember Gardner	Ruben Ayala		
Councilmember Perry	Zack Earp		
Councilmember Mac Arthur	Dr. Ronald Ellis		
Councilmember Conder	Dr. Ronald Ellis		
Councilmember Soubirous	Dr. Ronald Ellis		
Mayor Bailey	Zack Earp		
Councilmember Melendrez	Nancy Melendez		

On February 6, 2018, the Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee met and with Chair Bailey and Members Melendrez, Gardner, and Conder present, voted unanimously to nominate Ruben and Diana Ayala for the 2017 City Spirit Award.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact associated with this report.

Prepared by:

Colleen J. Nicol, City Clerk

Concurs with:

WILLIAM R. BAILEY, III, Chair

Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee