

City of Arts & Innovation

City Council Memorandum

TO: HONORABLE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL DATE: APRIL 9, 2019

FROM: CITY CLERK WARDS: ALL

SUBJECT: 2018 CITY SPIRIT AWARD

ISSUE:

Select a community member that exemplifies community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City for the 2018 City Spirit Award.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee recommends the selection of Brian Jaramillo to receive the 2018 City Spirit Award to honor his extraordinary deeds and community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City.

BACKGROUND:

The Mayor and City Council have honored a community member each year since the establishment of the City Spirit Award in 1995. The prior award recipients are listed below.

CITY SPIRIT AWARD RECIPIENTS			
1995	Dickey DeLoss	2006	Natividad Fuentes
1996	Rich Biber	2007	Damon Castillo
1997	Michael Goldware	2008	San Huang
1998	Rose Mayes	2009	Cindy Roth
1999	Rita Norton	2010	Kathy Allavie
2000	Vic Miceli	2011	Jane Block
2001	Daniel Hantman	2012	Stan Morrison
2002	William Gavitt	2013	Debbie Guthrie
2003	Dell Roberts	2014	Gordon Bourns
2004	Stan Brown	2015	Anthony Rivera
2005	Jim Erickson	2016	Henry Coil
	Ruben and Diana		
2017	Ayala		

The chart below lists citizens recommended for consideration of the award by the Mayor and individual members of the City Council.

2018 CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINATIONS			
Mayor Bailey	Brian Jaramillo (Tilden Coil)		
Mayor Bailey	Zack Earp		
Mayor Bailey	Dwight Tate/Kathy Wright		
Councilmember Perry	Randall Wisby		
Councilmember Adams	Randall Wisby		

On March 12, 2019, the Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee with Chair Bailey absent and Members Melendrez, Gardner, and Conder present, met and unanimously recommended Brian Jaramillo to receive the 2019 City Spirit Award.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this report.

Prepared by: Colleen J. Nicol, City Clerk

Concurs with:

WILLIAM R. BAILEY, III, Mayor

Chair, Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee