

City of Arts & Innovation

TO: MAYOR'S NOMINATING AND SCREENING DATE: APRIL 27, 2021 COMMITTEE

FROM: CITY CLERK

WARDS: ALL

SUBJECT: 2020 CITY SPIRIT AWARD

ISSUE:

Select community member that exemplifies community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City for the 2020 City Spirit Award.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Mayor's Nominating and Screening Committee select community member nominees for consideration by the City Council for the 2020 City Spirit Award to honor their extraordinary deeds and community spirit, good citizenship, and dedication to enhancing the quality of life in the City.

The chart below lists citizens recommended for consideration of the award by the Mayor and individual members of the City Council.

2020 CITY SPIRIT AWARD NOMINATIONS			
Recommended by:	Nominee		
Mayor Lock Dawson	Mark Rubin, posthumously		
Mayor Lock Dawson	John Plocher		
Councilwoman Plascencia	Janice Rooths		
Councilmember Edwards	Ofelia Valdez-Yeager		
Councilmember Melendrez	Jaqueline Verba		

BACKGROUND:

The Mayor and City Council have honored a community member each year since the establishment of the City Spirit Award in 1995. The prior award recipients are listed below.

CITY SPIRIT AWARD RECIPIENTS			
1995	Dickey DeLoss	2008	San Huang
1996	Rich Biber	2009	Cindy Roth
1997	Michael Goldware	2010	Kathy Allavie
1998	Rose Mayes	2011	Jane Block
1999	Rita Norton	2012	Stan Morrison
2000	Vic Miceli	2013	Debbie Guthrie
2001	Daniel Hantman	2014	Gordon Bourns
2002	William Gavitt	2015	Anthony Rivera
2003	Dell Roberts	2016	Henry Coil
2004	Stan Brown	2017	Ruben and Diana Ayala
2005	Jim Erickson	2018	Brian Jaramillo
2006	Natividad Fuentes	2019	Zack Earp
2007	Damon Castillo		

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this report.

Prepared by: Donesia Gause, City Clerk